Sleeping Early

This was my English assignment: “One of your classmates has said: “I think going to bed early is a waste of time. All my friends are playing online games at night.” Write a speech in which you try to persuade your class that it’s important to get a full night’s sleep.” This was my answer.

Sleeping early. It’s something we’d all like to love, yet love to hate. I won’t lie, staying up packs a thrill. There is a rather peculiar enjoyment in staying up late and gaming. “So,” you’re probably thinking, “why not just stay awake till late?” – why not though?

You see, the thing is, sleeping early is actually highly necessary: your body needs a significant portion of the day to relax, to regenerate itself, to rebuild itself. Without proper sleep, you could feel lethargic and have difficulties during your day. You could have difficulties participating in sports. Or you may fall asleep during your class, which, believe me, is not a good idea.

But it’s also possible that none of this happens to you. A lack of sleep, even if it doesn’t have negative effects on you in the short run, over a period of time, can be catastrophic. You would be far more likely to suffer from stunted growth, and may not develop fully mentally. I really do not think that that’s a risk worth taking. Think about it. It just isn’t worth it.

It is true that gaming in the middle of the night is fun. It is. I won’t disagree. And there are times when you just can’t go to sleep. So we end up playing games and consequently feel guilty. But if you really cannot sleep, why not do something else? There is a reason, you know, that bedtime stories are read to children. So you could read. Not only would it assist you in going to sleep, but it also lacks the harms of gaming. With proper lighting, reading a book won’t damage your eyes, unlike online gaming.

Do this, and you’ll feel the sense of satisfaction, of fulfilment, of joy, immensely. You will, trust me. And, after all, who wants to sacrifice a certificate or a golden sports day trophy for a short while of video gaming at night? Not me, and I’m sure not you either! So now ask yourselves, is staying up really worth the risks?

If you enjoyed it, please be sure to Like it! I hope you’ve now understood why you must sleep early. I have to sleep now – I’ve stayed up late to make this post.

6 thoughts on “Sleeping Early

    1. I’m not sure how to reply… maybe I don’t need to reply..?
      What you’re saying makes sense, and I sort of understand your situation. That’s about all I can say, unfortunately. I’m not good at replying to comments.

      Like

Leave a comment